The FGSV's anti-trust law compliance rules

When a large number of experts from different organisations work together – as is the case with the unpaid work done by experts working on FGSV committees – there is the risk of agreements that restrict competition in accordance with § 1 of the German Act against Restraints of Competition (Competition Act, GWB) and Article 101 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. This primarily includes agreements between competitors that relate to agreements on prices, quotas, customers, or territories and have as their object the noticeable restraint of competition. In addition, the ban on cartels applies in cases where the above-mentioned practices may affect trade between Member States. Thereafter, all national and international agreements between undertakings, decisions by associations of undertakings and concerted practices which have as their object or effect the prevention, restriction, or distortion of competition are prohibited (§ 1 of the German Act against Restraints of Competition (Competition Act, GWB) and Article 101 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union).

The objective of the FGSV's anti-trust law compliance rules is, therefore, to raise awareness of this issue among members of FGSV committees and to provide them with sufficient information with a view to preventing any behaviour on the part of these experts within the context of meetings and the drafting of technical standards and specifications and knowledge documents that could be deemed questionable from an anti-trust point of view. Information or agreements on prices, price strategies, margins/profits, discounts, quotas, customers, sales territories, and strategic orientation/investment are not subjects for FGSV meetings and events.

The FGSV Board of Directors has therefore decided that the following rules must be observed when carrying out all unpaid work within the FGSV:

  1. All people from a variety of organisations in the road and transportation sector in accordance with Article 3(1) of the FGSV's Articles of Association (authorities, corporate bodies, associations, companies, engineering companies, laboratories, and individuals) who are involved in the work of the FGSV undertake to promote the objectives of unsalaried work by legal and ethical means while observing legal provisions and the FGSV's anti-trust law compliance rules. No form of bribery and corruption will be tolerated.
  2. The FGSV Head Office shall ensure that all FGSV committee chairpersons are familiar with the FGSV's anti-trust law compliance rules and shall promote observation of these rules.
  3. There shall be no prior agreements regarding the drafting of technical standards and specifications and knowledge documents.
  4. FGSV committee chairpersons and the FGSV Head Office shall ensure that all agendas included in invitations to FGSV committee meetings do not contain any aspects that that may be questionable from an anti-trust point of view. Wording must be clear and explicit; care must be taken to ensue that agenda items that are neutral from an anti-trust point of view (e.g. 'Other business') do not appear to be in contravention of the law. If the purpose of this agenda item is to set dates, then the item should be named accordingly ('dates'). Terms such as 'prices', 'discounts', 'agree', etc. are critical.
  5. Once a year, FGSV committee chairpersons shall remind committee members of the FGSV's anti-trust law compliance rules and their obligation to observe them and that the discussion of sector-specific competition-related issues such as prices and discounts or the discussion of other sensitive company data is prohibited during committee meetings. Committee members confirm their awareness of these issues and their willingness to observe the above-mentioned rules by signing the attendance list at meetings. Any deviations from the agenda and any behaviour that that may be questionable from an anti-trust point of view must be recorded in the minutes of the meeting. In such cases, attention must be drawn to said behaviour and, if necessary, the chair or another member of the committee must interrupt or postpone the meeting. In such instances, the FGSV Head Office must be informed immediately.
  6. In the context of the FGSV's anti-trust law compliance rules, reference is hereby made to Articles 3(1) and 3(4) of the FGSV's articles of association.

 

Cologne, 18 May 2017

Elfriede Sauerwein-Braksiek, chairwoman of the FGSV

Update: 13/11/2018

Compliance-Regelungen der FGSV zum Kartellrecht

 

Bei der Zusammenarbeit einer Vielzahl von Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Organisationen, wie dies auch in der ehrenamtlichen Gremienarbeit der FGSV geschieht, besteht das Risiko von wettbewerbsbeschränkenden Absprachen gemäß § 1 GWB; Art. 101 AEUV. Hierunter fallen hauptsächlich Vereinbarungen zwischen Wettbewerbern, die Preis-, Quoten-, Kunden- oder Gebietsabsprachen betreffen, um eine spürbare Wettbewerbsbeschränkung zu bezwecken. Zusätzlich gilt das europäische Kartellverbot, wenn die genannten Praktiken geeignet sind, den Handel zwischen Mitgliedsstaaten zu beeinträchtigen. Danach sind alle nationalen und internationalen Vereinbarungen zwischen Unternehmen, Beschlüsse von Unternehmensvereinigungen und aufeinander abgestimmte Verhaltensweisen, die eine Verhinderung, Einschränkung oder Verfälschung des Wettbewerbs bezwecken oder bewirken, verboten (§ 1 Gesetz gegen Wettbewerbsbeschränkungen - GWB; Art. 101 Vertrag über die Arbeitsweise der Europäischen Union - AEUV).

Ziel dieser Compliance-Regelungen der FGSV zum Kartellrecht ist daher, die Gremienmitarbeiterinnen und -mitarbeiter der FGSV für dieses Thema zu sensibilisieren und eine Informationsbasis zu schaffen, um präventiv mögliches, kartellrechtlich bedenkliches Verhalten der Expertinnen und Experten im Rahmen der Sitzungen und der Erstellung von Regelwerken und Wissensdokumenten auszuschließen. Informationen oder Absprachen über Preise, Preisstrategien, Margen/Gewinne, Rabatte, Quoten, Kundinnen und Kunden oder Vertriebsgebiete sowie strategische Ausrichtungen/Investitionen gehören nicht zu den Themen der Sitzungen und Veranstaltungen der FGSV.

Der Vorstand der FGSV hat daher beschlossen, dass folgende Punkte bei der ehrenamtlichen Arbeit in der FGSV beachtet werden:

  1. Alle an der Arbeit in der FGSV beteiligten Personen des Straßen- und Verkehrswesens aus verschiedenen Organisationen gemäß § 3 (1) der Satzung der FGSV (Behörden, Körperschaften, Verbände, Unternehmen, Ingenieurbüros und Laboratorien sowie Personen) verpflichten sich, die Ziele der ehrenamtlichen Arbeit mit rechtlich und ethisch einwandfreien Mitteln unter Beachtung der gesetzlichen Vorschriften und der Compliance-Regelungen der FGSV zum Kartellrecht zu verfolgen. Es wird keinerlei Form von Bestechung und Korruption toleriert.
  2. Die Geschäftsstelle trägt Sorge dafür, dass bei den Leitungen der in der FGSV tätigen Gremien das Wissen über die Compliance-Regelungen zum Kartellrecht bekannt ist und wirkt darauf hin, dass danach gehandelt wird.
  3. Es gibt keine Vorfestlegung bei der Erstellung von Regelwerken und Wissensdokumenten durch die einzelnen Expertinnen und Experten in den Gremien.
  4. Die Leitungen der FGSV-Gremien und die Geschäftsstelle tragen Sorge dafür, dass bei den Tagesordnungen der Einladungen zu Sitzungen keine wettbewerbsrechtlich bedenklichen Aspekte vorhanden sind. Formulierungen sind klar und deutlich zu wählen, es ist zu vermeiden, dass durch die Wortwahl kartellrechtlich neutrale Tagesordnungspunkte (z. B. "Sonstiges") den Anschein des Rechtswidrigen erhalten. Wenn hier beispielsweise Terminvereinbarungen getroffen werden sollen, so ist der Tagesordnungspunkt auch so zu benennen ("Termine"). Begriffe wie "Preise", "Rabatte", "verabreden" usw. sind kritisch.
  5. Die Leitungen der FGSV-Gremien weisen die Gremienmitarbeiterinnen und -mitarbeiter jährlich darauf hin, dass die Compliance-Regelungen der FGSV zum Kartellrecht einzuhalten sind und dass es untersagt ist, in den Sitzungen branchenbezogene wettbewerbsrelevante Themen wie Preise und Rabatte zu diskutieren oder sonstige sensible Unternehmensdaten auszutauschen. Die Bestätigung der Kenntnis und der Beachtung wird bei den Gremiensitzungen durch die Unterschrift auf der Teilnehmerliste dokumentiert. Abweichungen von der Tagesordnung und kartellrechtlich bedenkliches Verhalten sind in der Niederschrift zu protokollieren. Auf kartellrechtlich bedenkliches Verhalten ist hinzuweisen; Sitzungen sind ggf. durch die Leitung oder durch weitere Mitarbeitende der Gremien zu unterbrechen oder zu verschieben. Die Geschäftsstelle ist in diesen Fällen umgehend zu informieren.
  6. Auf § 3 (1) und § 3 (4) der Satzung der FGSV wird auch im Sinne der Compliance-Regelungen verwiesen.

 

Köln, den 18. Mai 2017

Elfriede Sauerwein-Braksiek, Vorsitzende der FGSV

 

 

 

 

 

Update: 09/11/2017